This article was originally published here.

The game is usually played on a cricket field which is rectangular in shape a and 22-yard-long pitch. The target is the wicket (A set of three wooden stumps). It's a bat-ball game.
1. The Different Roles

Right before a match, captains from both teams meet on the pitch for the coin toss to determine which team will bat first. Two batsmen and eleven fielders along with the bowler enter the field and the game begins when the bowler bowls the ball from one end of the field towards the wicket at the other end, which is guarded by a batsman known as the striker.

1. The Batsman/Striker

The main duty of the batsman is to conserve his wicket as long as he can while trying to score runs. The striker prevents the ball from hitting the stumps by swinging his bat and, simultaneously, to strike the ball well to score runs.

2. The Other Batsman

The other batsman also called the non-striker waits near the bowler.

3. The Bowler

The bowler's objective is to prevent the scoring of runs and to get the batsman out.

4. The Wicket Keeper

The fielding team includes a wicket-keeper, the person who stands behind the striker's wicket waiting to hit the stumps if the ball arrives.

5. The Fielders

Other nine fielders are tactically placed around the field by the bowling team captain to catch the ball hit by the striker and prevent him to score or take runs.
2. The Rules Of Cricket

- Each phase of the game is called an innings during which one team bats, attempting to score as many runs as possible, whilst their opponents bowl and field.

- There are either one or two innings, depending on the type of match. After the first innings, the teams swap roles for the next.

- Unless a match results in a draw, the winner is determined by the team that scores the maximum runs.

- Once a batsman is put away by a bowler and declared to be "out", must leave the field to be replaced by another teammate.

- An over is usually a set of six deliveries by the same bowler. The next over is bowled by a different bowler.

- The most common way for a batsman to be out is when the bowler hits the stumps directly with the ball. If the batsman prevents the ball from hitting the stumps with his body instead of his bat then also it is out and called "leg before wicket" or when the batsman strikes the ball into the air and it is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground.

- Runs can be scored by two methods: either by hitting the ball hard enough for it to cross the boundary or by the two batsmen swapping ends by each simultaneously running the length of the pitch in opposite directions whilst the fielders are retrieving the ball.

- If a fielder gets hold of the ball quickly enough to put down the wicket while the batsman has not reached his end of the pitch, that batsman is declared out with a runout.

- Judgement on the field is given by the two umpires; they are in communication with two off-fielders who record the match's statistical information.

And there you have it, enough Cricket knowledge to begin and experience the game.